Shannon Brucker

Nando’s Peri-Peri

In Celiac, gluten-free on November 21, 2011 at 10:53 pm

This week I tried Portuguese food for the first time at Nando’s Peri-Peri. I will never go back to plain old rotisserie chicken again. I don’t like spicy food so I went for the Lemon Herb basting sauce. The heat level in this sauce was perfect for a spice wimp like me.  The Macho Peas are mashed peas with whole peas, parsley, mint and chilli. While the heat level almost pushed past what I like I would happily endure the burn again and again. When I ordered the peas I was expecting a brown mushy dish. I got a vibrant green masterpiece that tasted like the peas were just out of the pod with each herb was individually showcased beautifully.

As far for a Gluten Free Menu I would say that Nando’s surpasses any chain restaurant I have ever been to. Almost everything is gluten free! The only things to avoid are the bread, wrappers and corn bread. Add to that fast service, take out and online ordering with very reasonable prices and you have the perfect recipe for grabbing a gluten free meal on the go.

Nando's Peri-Peri on Urbanspoon

  1. We are not lucky enough to have Nando’s in my little west Texas town, BUT I did have Nando’s in Lusaka Zambia. It is great!!! My husband had it a year prior and when he spotted it , he introduced me to it. We ate our last two meals in Zambia there, before flying out for the states. I had ONE big problem, I too loved the heat, and it too was just a tad over the top for even I. When spice heat hits the ole gut it acts a bit like wheat…… I stayed up all night before flying out praying and……. that it would end before the flight! It did! Next time I find a Nando’s I will time it better with my flight!

  2. So helpful! Thanks for posting

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

